Blue Ribbon Cancer Panel Includes Four AACI Cancer Center Directors

The Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI) congratulates the new members of a Blue Ribbon Panel, announced by the National Cancer Institute (NCI), which will inform the scientific direction and goals at NCI of Vice President Joe Bidenís National Cancer Moonshot Initiative.

The panel, comprised of scientific experts, cancer leaders, and patient advocates, includes four AACI cancer center directors: Mary Beckerle, Ph.D., CEO and Director, Huntsman Cancer Institute, Salt Lake City; Chi Van Dang, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine and Director, Abramson Cancer Center, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia; Augusto Ochoa, MD, Professor of Pediatrics and Director, Stanley S. Scott Cancer Center Louisiana State University, New Orleans; and, Jennifer Pietenpol, PhD, Professor of Oncology, Professor of Biochemistry, and Director, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville, Tennessee.

In addition, Laurie Glimcher, MD, Professor of Medicine and Dean, Weill Cornell Medical College, is incoming President and CEO, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston.

The Blue Ribbon Panel is co-chaired by Tyler Jacks, PhD, Chair, National Cancer Advisory Board, and Director, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Elizabeth Jaffee, MD, Professor and Deputy Director for Translational Research, Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, and Dinah Singer, PhD, Acting Deputy Director and Director, Division of Cancer Biology, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda. (A full list of panel members is available here.)