Distinguished Scientist Award

Recognizing Scientific Excellence

The AACI Distinguished Scientist Award was created in 2002 to recognize a major contributor to the field of cancer research. 

Selected by the AACI Board of Directors, the awardee should be widely known in the cancer community through their research accomplishments. 

Past awardees include Drs. Charles Perou, Carl June, James Allison, Lewis Cantley, Tim Ley, Brian Druker, Lee Hartwell, Mary-Claire King, Janet Rowley, Stuart Schreiber, Bert Vogelstein, Robert Weinberg, and Irving Weissman.

The 2020 nomination period will open in December 2019.

For more information, please contact Program Manager Kate Shaw at 412-605-1477.

2019 Recipient Spotlight

Douglas R. Lowy, MD

Douglas R. Lowy, MD

Douglas R. Lowy, MD, acting director of the National Cancer Institute, will receive the 2019 AACI Distinguished Scientist Award in recognition of his scientific achievements, including his role in enabling the development of human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccines.

“The AACI board and national membership is honored to have this opportunity to recognize Dr. Lowy’s scientific achievements,” said AACI President Roy A. Jensen, MD. “Doug has been a champion of AACI cancer centers throughout his tenure at the NCI, and his breakthrough laboratory discoveries have been an invaluable resource for the cancer research community.”

Learn More About Dr. Lowy's Scientific Achievements

  • Only members of the AACI Board of Directors are eligible to submit a nominee 
  • Eligible nominees will be considered based on satisfactory completion of the nomination form, which should include a detailed description of how the nominee has made an enduring impact on the progress of cancer research or patient care

The AACI Distinguished Scientist honoree will be selected by a majority vote of the AACI Board of Directors. The AACI president will notify the cancer center who submitted the name of the selected honoree. The award will be presented on October 21 at the 2019 AACI/CCAF Annual Meeting at The Mayflower Hotel in Washington, DC.

The awardee will be invited to deliver a keynote presentation to meeting attendees and must be present to accept the award. AACI is not obligated to defer the award to another year if an awardee cannot attend the meeting in person.

In the event that there is no nomination or no nominee meets the award criteria, no award will be made for that cycle. 

January 31, 2019
2019 nomination period is now closed

February 28, 2019
Board of Directors completes review of nominations 

April 1, 2019
Board president notifies selected honoree

July 1, 2019
Honoree announced 

October 21, 2019
Award presented in person at the 2019 AACI/CCAF Annual Meeting at The Mayflower Hotel in Washington, DC

December 2019
Announce call for nominations at Board of Directors meeting

Please note: all dates are subject to change.