PCLI Welcomes New Steering Committee Members

Pictured, clockwise from top right: Carrie B. Lee, MD, MPH; Julie Ann Sosa, MD, MA, FACS, MAMSE, FSSO; Karen L. Reckamp, MD, MS

Three new members have been selected to join AACI’s Physician Clinical Leadership Initiative (PCLI) Steering Committee:
  • Carrie B. Lee, MD, MPH, associate professor, Division of Hematology/Oncology, and medical director, Clinical Protocol Office, UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Karen L. Reckamp, MD, MS, director, Division of Medical Oncology; associate director, Clinical Research; and medical oncology director, Lung Institute, Cedars-Sinai Cancer
  • Julie Ann Sosa, MD, MA, FACS, MAMSE, FSSO, chair, Department of Surgery; Leon Goldman, MD Distinguished Professor of Surgery and professor, Department of Medicine, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
The new members’ terms began January 1.

AACI would like to thank the following outgoing steering committee members for the time and commitment in guiding the initiative and planning the yearly annual PCLI meeting:​
  • Ruben A. Mesa, MD, director, Mays Cancer Center, UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson
  • Edith P. Mitchell, MD, FACP, director, Center to Eliminate Cancer Disparities, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson Health
  • Srinivasan Vijayakumar, MD, professor and chair, UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute
Entering its ninth year, PCLI pursues a variety of objectives, including developing better methods to disseminate information across cancer centers, identifying and addressing oncology care model barriers, and measuring quality. In 2020, PCLI hosted the following webinars:

Maintaining a Clinical Research Practice at an Academic Cancer Center
Claire Verschraegen, MS, MD, FACP
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center - James Cancer Hospital & Solove Research Institute

Implementation of Germline Testing for Prostate Cancer
Edith P. Mitchell, MD and Veda N. Giri, MD
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson Health

Oncology Workforce Challenges: The Role of the Advanced Practice Provider (APP) in Academic Oncology
John Sweetenham, MD, FRCP, FACP, FASCO, and Angela F. Bazzell, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, AOCNP
Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center, UT Southwestern Medical Center