Jeff A. Walker, MBA

Jeff A. Walker  Jeff A. Walker, MBA, is the chief operating officer (COO) at City of Hope. He is responsible for enterprise clinical and research operations as well as executing and launching new major local, national, and international initiatives, innovations, strategic programs, and business ventures – leading and chaperoning their development and transition from the strategic business development phase into mature enterprise structure and ongoing operations.

Before coming to City of Hope, Walker served as the COO and senior executive director for The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James), overseeing all administrative, operational and fiscal functions for Ohio State’s cancer program.

Walker has had a long and successful career in academic health care administration. Before arriving at Ohio State in 2010 to become the first COO and senior executive director for the OSUCCC – James, he worked at Roswell Park Cancer Research Institute in Buffalo, New York, for three years, serving as executive vice president. In that capacity, he oversaw the strategic direction and operations of the institute, including the administrative, scientific, and clinical departments; mission area programs; strategic planning initiatives; and renewal of an NCI support grant. His time at Roswell Park was preceded by an earlier stint as associate director of the OSUCCC from 2001-2007, a position to which he was recruited after gaining more than a decade of administrative leadership experience at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute (now UPMC Hillman Cancer Center).

Walker earned a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry from Pennsylvania State University and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Pittsburgh. In addition to serving as AACI’s board treasurer, he serves on the board and finance committee of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network. Walker is also the vice-chair of the Alliance of Dedicated Cancer Centers Executive Committee.